Friday 18 August 2023

44th AWARD Awards winners announced

* Bear Meets Eagle on Fire named Individual Agency of the Year
* Special named Agency Network of the Year
* Scoundrel named Production Company of the Year

The winners of the 44th annual AWARD Awards were announced last night at The Gold Pencil Award Party, held as part of This Way Up at Sydney’s Museum of Contemporary Art.

A total of 59 Gold pencils were awarded across 26 different campaigns, with a further 101 Silver and 187 Bronze pencils awarded.

Special New Zealand took home seven Gold across two campaigns: The Last Performance and Summer Never Sleeps. CHEP Network collected five Gold pencils for their Flipvertising campaign, which was also awarded the Grand Award.

Special was crowned Agency Network of the Year, having taken home 11 golds across their agencies. This award recognises specific agency network brands instead of only holding companies, therefore can be awarded to anyone that has multiple city offices.

Special New Zealand took home 7 Golds; CHEP Network had 5; FINCH, TBWA\Australia, Special Australia, Scoundrel all had 4. Bear Meets Eagle on Fire, Thinkerbell, Howatson+Company, The Sweetshop, The Monkeys, Revolver, VMLY&R all with 3; HERO and Rumble Studios with 2.

BMF, Cheil PengTai Beijing, Colenso BBDO, Dentsu Creative, Ogilvy Group Thailand, R/GA Australia all picked up one Gold each.

AWARD Chair Cam Blackley said: ‘The AWARD Awards really is the greatest creative show in our region and every year we see creativity that punches well above its weight.

“A big congratulations to all those that picked up gold today and a massive shout out to everyone who won a silver or bronze during our virtual announcements.

“I’d like to thank our jury president David Kolbusz, all the jury chairs and our team of judges who devote a huge amount of time freely to the significant task of handing out the industry’s most coveted creative metal.” he said.

Agency Network of the Year – Top 5
1st – Special
2nd – TBWA
3rd – CHEP Network
4th – The Monkeys, part of Accenture Song
5th – VMLY&R

Individual Agency of the Year – Top 3
1st – Bear Meets Eagle on Fire
2nd – Special New Zealand
3rd – BMF

Production Company of the Year – Top 5
1st – Scoundrel
2nd – Sweetshop
3rd – FINCH
4th – Revolver

The Grand Award
Flipvertising, CHEP Network

Marketing Team of the Year
ALDI Australia

Account Team of the Year
Virgin Australia Group
Special Australia

Chief Marketing Officer of the Year
Susan Coghill, Tourism Australia

Emerging Creative or Team of the Year
Hannah Lawson & Kate Idle
DDB Group Australia

Individual Creative or Team of the Year
Alan Jones & Angelo An
FCB New Zealand

Emerging Indigenous Creative Talent
Jonathon Saunders
Studio Gilay

Emerging Director of the Year
Taylor Ferguson, Good Oil

Individual Director of the Year
Steve Rogers, Revolver

Rising Star Award/Breakthrough Agency


44th AWARD Awards
View all the Gold, Silver and Bronze winners here.
View all the Special Award winners here.

Recent news